Welcome to the BLOG

Welcome one and all to my BLOG! Those of you who know me already are probably thinking ‘pigs can fly?’, but as I’m embarking on new and potentially exciting chapter I thought it would be a good time to start… well, a chapter! First and foremost as a way of allowing friends and family to keep up with my goings on, especially as circumstances never allow me to see friends or family as much as I’d like to; and also to hopefully to provide some type of insight into the life and times of a track & field athlete, fresh out of University, trying to turn professional within the sport of athletics.

Also, I recently met David Oliver, a professional 110m hurdler from America (#3 fastest sprint hurdler of all-time, Olympic Bronze Medallist and No.1 ranked in the world this year and last), and had the opportunity to spend a few days with him on set last week as we filmed a Coca-Cola TV Commercial (with Mark Ronson, Katy B and others) to be used worldwide in the run up to next year’s Olympics. David a.k.a Thunder, is a guy whom I have a great deal of respect for as well as admiration, in terms of what he does and what he’s achieved; he started a blog of his own back in 2007 having followed and been inspired to do so by Ron Bramlett’s blog (another 110m hurdler – now retired) and in a similar vein more recently I have followed David’s blog from time to time and meeting him this week reminded me of it, so I guess you could credit him as a source of inspiration too.

On-y-va! A quick recap of recent happenings, but first allow me to set the scene: generally speaking the annual cycle for British athletes is January –> Mid-March: Indoor Competition Season, April –> Mid-May: Spring Training, Mid-May –> September: Outdoor Competition Season, September: Off-Season, October –> December: Winter Training. So for the month of September I’ve been enjoying my ‘rest period’ i.e. time-off training and competing to chill out/take a break/live a little. These 4-6 weeks a year are gold dust to track & field athletes as it’s the only time of the year where we can completely let our hair down (no pun intended), indulge in junk food and not be a prisoner of one’s usual daily routine – normally consisting of: EAT-TRAIN-EAT-SLEEP-EAT-RESTorWORKorSTUDY-EAT-TRAIN-EAT-SLEEP & REPEAT. It’s fair to say I’ve made the most of my time off, making a real effort to catch up with numerous friends from University, School and the Athletics World, I’ve also been loading up my Nandos card(s) with nuff stamps, seeing off countless bacon & cream cheese bagels and indulging in more than the recommended daily allowance of ‘Percy Pigs’ – how very rock-star I know! Highlights have included going to ‘Bestival’ (a 4-day music/attractions festival in the Isle of Wight – my first ever festival!) with my girlfriend and 8 of her friends from school – this was EPIC in every sense of the word, although a leaking boutique-camping tepee only served to reinforce my inclination that I’m probably more of a ‘Malmaison/Westin/Ritz-Carlton’ kinda guy, ha! Another highlight was my birthday, which conveniently for me falls during the off-season *score*! I went to see the critically acclaimed west-end show ‘Wicked’ with my family, which lived up to its name and on the weekend I hired out a private area of The Piccadilly Institute (a new 6-room/4-floor superclub in central London) for 40+ friends with my main man Hugh (whose birthday falls a few days earlier) – again this was an AWESOME night, bottles were popped, sparklers were lit in abundance and a good time was had by all who made it down, happy days!

So, it’s the 1st of the month and here marks the end of my time-off, big love to all the peeps I’ve shared presence/skype-sessions/viber-calls with – normal service (11 months of neglect) is about to resume, ha! Monday will be my first day of Winter Training ahead of the long-awaited Olympic year and the next 10 months are sure to be a rollercoaster ride! Quote of the moment: “No-one said it would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it – Ralph Marston”… I’ll be sure to keep you all posted along the way!

~ Julz ~

About JA

professional athlete
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to the BLOG

  1. M Fiza Khan says:

    Extremely talented young man, hugely inspirational character. It was an honour to work with you. Blessings

Leave a Reply

