A Bonus Challenge! – Updated

Following my performance at the UK Indoor Championships last weekend I’ve merited an invite to the world renown Aviva Indoor Grand Prix, to be staged at the National Indoor Arena in Birmingham this Saturday. This is a fantastic opportunity to take on many of the world’s best hurdlers, not to mention the two fastest hurdlers of all-time Liu Xiang and Dayron Robles – a pair of Olympic Champions, the former and the reigning World Record holder, respectively. As a Birmingham born and part-time based athlete I can’t wait to get out onto the track and compete in front of the 10,000+ home crowd inside the sold-out arena. I bumped into Liu during my training session yesterday and I’m pretty sure I could smell fear, so we’ll have to see if I can get the measure of him!

Not one to be missed, be sure to tune into BBC1 at 2pm this Saturday for the heats of the 60m Hurdles.

For King and country!

~ Julz ~

 

*************  UPDATE  *************

 

Another Personal Best (PB) performance! Drawn in the second of two heats, alongside Dayron Robles and a whole host of World and European medallists, I got off to a great start and kept my composure to cross the line in 7.71s, to make it five PBs in five competitions this year! 

So that’s a wrap on Indoors, it’s back to heavy training this week and the quest for Olympic qualification this summer, as well as the sponsorship that will help enable this. I’ll be doing my utmost in between now and then to leave no stone unturned, there are 8 grueling training weeks until the Outdoor season begins, so every day counts. I really hope to be able to spend a few of these weeks putting in some quality training at a purpose built Warm Weather Olympic Training Camp in Italy, which will be led by esteemed Olympic 110m Hurdler Tony Jarrett, if I can raise the £1,400 needed for this.

If anyone reading this would like to help, you can do and out more: HERE.

 

Many thanks for your support!

~ Julz ~

About JA

professional athlete
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bonus Challenge! – Updated

  1. katie says:

    Good luck Julz! we’ll be seeing you at Busy Bees Nursery at St James on Monday – looking forward to meeting you…

Leave a Reply

